Japan is described as a constitutional monarch with an Emperor as a symbol of state. It has a parliamentary form of government with an elected bicameral legislature consisting of the Diet with a House of Councillors (the Upper House), and the House of Representatives (the Lower House) and the majority part president serves as Prime Minister. General elections are held every 4 years unless the Lower House is dissolved for some reason earlier.

Japan is divided into 47 administrative sections, 43 of these rural prefectures, 2 urban prefectures, 1 metropolitan district and 1 other district. The large cities are dived into wards, then into precincts or subdistricts and counties.

The legal system is an independent judiciary with a Supreme Court, high courts, district courts and family courts.

Main Index
Japan main page
Japanese-American Internment Camps index page
Japan and World War II index page